Girl Scouts of Greater Iowa is comprised of 67 counties in Iowa, two counties in South Dakota, and one county in Nebraska.
The counties include: Adair, Adams, Appanoose, Audubon, Boone, Buena Vista, Butler, Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, Cerro Gordo, Cherokee, Clarke, Clay, Clay (SD), Crawford, Dakota (NE), Dallas, Davis, Decatur, Dickinson, Emmet, Floyd, Franklin, Fremont, Greene, Guthrie, Hamilton, Hancock, Hardin, Harrison, Humboldt, Ida, Jasper, Keokuk, Kossuth, Lucas, Madison, Mahaska, Marion, Marshall, Mills, Mitchell, Monona, Monroe, Montgomery, O'Brien, Palo Alto, Page, Pocahontas, Polk, Pottawattamie, Poweshiek, Plymouth, Ringgold, Sac, Shelby, Story, Sioux, Taylor, Union, Union (SD), Wapello, Warren, Wayne, Webster, Winnebago, Woodbury, Worth and Wright. In addition we also serve portions of Chickasaw, Jefferson, Osceola and Tama counties.

Member Size

Our member size is approximately 19,000 in 67 counties in Iowa, two counties in South Dakota and one county in Nebraska.

Approximately 15,000 girls in six program grade levels (learn more about grade levels):

  • Girl Scout Daisy (grades K-1)
  • Girl Scout Brownie (grades 2-3)
  • Girl Scout Junior (grades 4-5)
  • Girl Scout Cadette (grades 6-8)
  • Girl Scout Senior (grades 9-10)
  • Girl Scout Ambassador (grades 11-12)
  • Girl Scout Adult (18 years old and older)

Close to 4,000 adult members (women and men), including volunteer leaders, consultants, board members, and staff specialists in such areas as child development, adult education, outdoor education, fund development, public relations, and administration. Employed executives account for less than one percent of total adult membership.

Girls and leaders participate in Girl Scouting through troops/groups, interest groups, or as individuals. There are nearly 1,600 troops/groups and interest groups.